Data annotation companies by modality
Of the 18 vendors we compared, 17 label images and 16 label text; only 7 cover 3D point clouds and sensor data, and 5 cover code. Each list below is in ranking order, using what the vendors publish about themselves.
Last verified November 7, 2026. This guide is independent: it has no affiliation with the vendors named and none of them endorses it. Nothing here was tested by us.
Which annotation companies label images?
17 of 18 vendors list image work. Image work is the most widely offered: boxes, polygons, keypoints and segmentation masks. Price depends on shape and density, so a mask costs far more than a box.
| Overall rank | Company | Sells | Published pricing | Security reports listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kili Technologykili-technology.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | No-cost trial for 2 to 5 seats and at most 100 assets; Grow and Enterprise sold on custom terms. | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 |
| 2 | Segments.aisegments.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Core tier: 3,600+ labeling hours a year, which Segments.ai equates to $2.67 an hour. Fusion: 5,000+ hours. Enterprise: 150,000+ hours. 14-day trial. | ISO 27001, TISAX |
| 3 | HumanSignal (Label Studio)humansignal.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Hosted Starter Cloud: $99/month with 12 users included, then $49/month for each added user. Enterprise priced on request. Community Edition: free, open source. | SOC 2 (Enterprise plan) |
| 4 | Label Your Datalabelyourdata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | $0.015+ per keypoint, $0.02+ per box, $0.02+ per NLP entity. Hourly work: usually $6 an annotator hour. | None found |
| 5 | Labelboxdocs.labelbox.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Billed in LBUs, e.g. 1 per image row (Annotate) or 20 per row (live multimodal or LLM work). LBU dollar rate not shown. Free tier: 500 LBUs monthly. | None found |
| 6 | SuperAnnotatesuperannotate.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Three tiers (Starter, Pro, Enterprise) bundling 1K, 2.5K or 10K Orchestrate compute hours. Prices not shown. | None found |
| 7 | Dataloopdataloop.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type II |
| 8 | Samasama.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 9001, ISO 27001, TISAX |
| 9 | Scale AIscale.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 10 | Encordencord.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | SOC 2 (type not stated) |
| 11 | Appenappen.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 12 | Centificcentific.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 13 | TELUS Digital (AI Data Solutions)telusdigital.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 14 | Tolokatoloka.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 15 | CloudFactorycloudfactory.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 16 | Innodatainnodata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 18 | Keymakrkeymakr.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
Introductions to vendors in this list can earn us a fee from the vendor. The order above is the scoring order, unchanged by it.
Ask every image vendor
- Which shapes are priced per object, and which per image?
- Is model pre-labeling used, and is it charged?
Which annotation companies label video?
17 of 18 vendors list video work. Video adds tracking: the same object keeps one ID across frames. Vendors either label every frame or label keyframes and interpolate between them, which changes the price a great deal.
| Overall rank | Company | Sells | Published pricing | Security reports listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kili Technologykili-technology.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | No-cost trial for 2 to 5 seats and at most 100 assets; Grow and Enterprise sold on custom terms. | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 |
| 2 | Segments.aisegments.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Core tier: 3,600+ labeling hours a year, which Segments.ai equates to $2.67 an hour. Fusion: 5,000+ hours. Enterprise: 150,000+ hours. 14-day trial. | ISO 27001, TISAX |
| 3 | HumanSignal (Label Studio)humansignal.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Hosted Starter Cloud: $99/month with 12 users included, then $49/month for each added user. Enterprise priced on request. Community Edition: free, open source. | SOC 2 (Enterprise plan) |
| 4 | Label Your Datalabelyourdata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | $0.015+ per keypoint, $0.02+ per box, $0.02+ per NLP entity. Hourly work: usually $6 an annotator hour. | None found |
| 5 | Labelboxdocs.labelbox.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Billed in LBUs, e.g. 1 per image row (Annotate) or 20 per row (live multimodal or LLM work). LBU dollar rate not shown. Free tier: 500 LBUs monthly. | None found |
| 6 | SuperAnnotatesuperannotate.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Three tiers (Starter, Pro, Enterprise) bundling 1K, 2.5K or 10K Orchestrate compute hours. Prices not shown. | None found |
| 7 | Dataloopdataloop.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type II |
| 8 | Samasama.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 9001, ISO 27001, TISAX |
| 9 | Scale AIscale.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 10 | Encordencord.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | SOC 2 (type not stated) |
| 11 | Appenappen.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 12 | Centificcentific.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 13 | TELUS Digital (AI Data Solutions)telusdigital.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 14 | Tolokatoloka.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 15 | CloudFactorycloudfactory.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 16 | Innodatainnodata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 18 | Keymakrkeymakr.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
Introductions to vendors in this list can earn us a fee from the vendor. The order above is the scoring order, unchanged by it.
Ask every video vendor
- Frame by frame or keyframe interpolation, and at what frame rate?
- How are ID switches caught and fixed?
Which annotation companies label text and documents?
16 of 18 vendors list text work. Text covers classification, entity and span tagging, extraction from documents, and more and more rating of LLM output. Language coverage is often the deciding factor.
| Overall rank | Company | Sells | Published pricing | Security reports listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kili Technologykili-technology.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | No-cost trial for 2 to 5 seats and at most 100 assets; Grow and Enterprise sold on custom terms. | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 |
| 3 | HumanSignal (Label Studio)humansignal.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Hosted Starter Cloud: $99/month with 12 users included, then $49/month for each added user. Enterprise priced on request. Community Edition: free, open source. | SOC 2 (Enterprise plan) |
| 4 | Label Your Datalabelyourdata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | $0.015+ per keypoint, $0.02+ per box, $0.02+ per NLP entity. Hourly work: usually $6 an annotator hour. | None found |
| 5 | Labelboxdocs.labelbox.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Billed in LBUs, e.g. 1 per image row (Annotate) or 20 per row (live multimodal or LLM work). LBU dollar rate not shown. Free tier: 500 LBUs monthly. | None found |
| 6 | SuperAnnotatesuperannotate.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Three tiers (Starter, Pro, Enterprise) bundling 1K, 2.5K or 10K Orchestrate compute hours. Prices not shown. | None found |
| 7 | Dataloopdataloop.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type II |
| 8 | Samasama.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 9001, ISO 27001, TISAX |
| 9 | Scale AIscale.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 10 | Encordencord.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | SOC 2 (type not stated) |
| 11 | Appenappen.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 12 | Centificcentific.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 13 | TELUS Digital (AI Data Solutions)telusdigital.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 14 | Tolokatoloka.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 15 | CloudFactorycloudfactory.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 16 | Innodatainnodata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 17 | Snorkel AIsnorkel.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
Introductions to vendors in this list can earn us a fee from the vendor. The order above is the scoring order, unchanged by it.
Ask every text vendor
- Which languages, and are annotators native speakers?
- Do raters for LLM output need subject expertise, and how is it checked?
Which annotation companies label audio and speech?
12 of 18 vendors list audio work. Audio work is mostly transcription, speaker labels, timestamps and sound-event tagging. Accent and language range matter more than the tool.
| Overall rank | Company | Sells | Published pricing | Security reports listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | HumanSignal (Label Studio)humansignal.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Hosted Starter Cloud: $99/month with 12 users included, then $49/month for each added user. Enterprise priced on request. Community Edition: free, open source. | SOC 2 (Enterprise plan) |
| 4 | Label Your Datalabelyourdata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | $0.015+ per keypoint, $0.02+ per box, $0.02+ per NLP entity. Hourly work: usually $6 an annotator hour. | None found |
| 5 | Labelboxdocs.labelbox.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Billed in LBUs, e.g. 1 per image row (Annotate) or 20 per row (live multimodal or LLM work). LBU dollar rate not shown. Free tier: 500 LBUs monthly. | None found |
| 6 | SuperAnnotatesuperannotate.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Three tiers (Starter, Pro, Enterprise) bundling 1K, 2.5K or 10K Orchestrate compute hours. Prices not shown. | None found |
| 7 | Dataloopdataloop.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type II |
| 9 | Scale AIscale.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 10 | Encordencord.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | SOC 2 (type not stated) |
| 11 | Appenappen.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 12 | Centificcentific.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 13 | TELUS Digital (AI Data Solutions)telusdigital.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 14 | Tolokatoloka.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 16 | Innodatainnodata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
Introductions to vendors in this list can earn us a fee from the vendor. The order above is the scoring order, unchanged by it.
Ask every audio vendor
- Word-for-word or clean transcription, and how is overlapping speech marked?
- How is word error rate measured on delivery?
Which annotation companies label 3D point clouds and sensor data?
7 of 18 vendors list 3d and sensor work. LiDAR cuboids, point-cloud segmentation and camera-LiDAR fusion are specialist work, used most in autonomy and robotics. Fewer vendors offer it, and tooling matters a lot.
| Overall rank | Company | Sells | Published pricing | Security reports listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | Segments.aisegments.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Core tier: 3,600+ labeling hours a year, which Segments.ai equates to $2.67 an hour. Fusion: 5,000+ hours. Enterprise: 150,000+ hours. 14-day trial. | ISO 27001, TISAX |
| 4 | Label Your Datalabelyourdata.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | $0.015+ per keypoint, $0.02+ per box, $0.02+ per NLP entity. Hourly work: usually $6 an annotator hour. | None found |
| 7 | Dataloopdataloop.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type II |
| 8 | Samasama.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | ISO 9001, ISO 27001, TISAX |
| 9 | Scale AIscale.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 10 | Encordencord.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform | Not published (quote on request). | SOC 2 (type not stated) |
| 13 | TELUS Digital (AI Data Solutions)telusdigital.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
Introductions to vendors in this list can earn us a fee from the vendor. The order above is the scoring order, unchanged by it.
Ask every 3d and sensor vendor
- Can LiDAR and camera frames be labeled together, in which coordinate frame?
- Are cuboids tracked across sequences, and how is that priced?
Which annotation companies label code?
5 of 18 vendors list code work. Code annotation now mostly means writing, reviewing and grading code for model training and evaluation. It needs working engineers, not general annotators.
| Overall rank | Company | Sells | Published pricing | Security reports listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | Labelboxdocs.labelbox.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Billed in LBUs, e.g. 1 per image row (Annotate) or 20 per row (live multimodal or LLM work). LBU dollar rate not shown. Free tier: 500 LBUs monthly. | None found |
| 9 | Scale AIscale.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 11 | Appenappen.com, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 14 | Tolokatoloka.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Managed service | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
| 17 | Snorkel AIsnorkel.ai, read Nov 7, 2026 | Platform and services | Not published (quote on request). | None found |
Introductions to vendors in this list can earn us a fee from the vendor. The order above is the scoring order, unchanged by it.
Ask every code vendor
- Which languages can annotators write at a professional level?
- Are solutions run against tests before delivery?
Where these facts come from
- Kili Technology: kili-technology.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Segments.ai: segments.ai, read Nov 7, 2026
- HumanSignal (Label Studio): humansignal.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Label Your Data: labelyourdata.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Labelbox: docs.labelbox.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- SuperAnnotate: superannotate.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Dataloop: dataloop.ai, read Nov 7, 2026
- Sama: sama.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Scale AI: scale.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Encord: encord.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Appen: appen.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Centific: centific.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- TELUS Digital (AI Data Solutions): telusdigital.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Toloka: toloka.ai, read Nov 7, 2026
- CloudFactory: cloudfactory.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Innodata: innodata.com, read Nov 7, 2026
- Snorkel AI: snorkel.ai, read Nov 7, 2026
- Keymakr: keymakr.com, read Nov 7, 2026
Questions about modality coverage
Which modality has the most annotation vendors?
Image and video: 17 of the 18 vendors we compared list image work and 17 list video. Code is the rarest of the six, at 5.
Does listing a modality mean a vendor is good at it?
No. The table shows what each company says it covers on its own site. Depth varies widely, so ask for examples of past work in your modality and run a pilot.
Should I use one vendor for several modalities?
One vendor keeps contracts, tools and quality reports in one place. Two specialists may do better on hard modalities such as 3D sensor fusion. Ask which parts, if any, go to a second firm.
Where are LLM ratings and preference data?
Rating and preference work for language models is usually sold as RLHF or evaluation data. Several vendors here offer it under text; ask about rater screening and agreement targets.
Read next
Get a quote
A ZIP code, a reply address, then a few taps describing the work. We match the outline against what each vendor publishes and write back with names; no vendor hears about you until you pick one.
Keep data, samples, label guides and logins out of this form. The outline on its own is enough for us to work from.
How this site earns: as an introduction service, it may be paid by the annotation company you are introduced to.
Received. Next steps from our side:
- Your outline is set against each vendor's published modalities, minimums, security reports and pricing.
- We write to you naming the vendors we think fit, and why.
- Nothing goes to any vendor until you reply to say which introductions you want.